Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Saddick, Takyi win big at 46th SWAG Awards

Saddick, Takyi win big at 46th SWAG Awards

Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) last night held the 46th edition of their annual awards ceremony at the International Conference Center in Accra with the Vice President of Ghana Dr Mahamudu Bawumia and the GA Mantse Nii Tackie Teiko Tsuru II been the guests of honor.

The ceremony was also graced with many top personalities , the Youth and Sports Minister, Hon Mustapha Ussif, th Tsuru II, the Chief of Asogli Traditional Area and Hearts of Oak board chairman, Togbe Afede XIthe SWAG President and renowned Sports Journalist Kwabena Yeboah and may more.

Amateur boxer Samuel Takyi, 21, who made Ghana proud in last year’s Olympics games in Tokyo, was adjudged the overall Sports personality of the Year.

A boxer Samuel Takyi, 21, put smiles on the faces of Ghanaians after winning a first medal for team Ghana in Olympics games after defeating 32year Colombian David Ceiber Avila in a 3-2 split decision in 2020 Olympics in Tokyo, to become the first Ghanaian Athlete to win medal since Ghana won a medal in Barcelona 1992.

Takyi became the first boxer to win a medal for Ghana since Prince Amartey won bronze in Munich 1972.

Ajax playmaker, Kudus Mohammed was named foreign player of the year, while Hearts of Oak talisman Daniel Afriyie Barnieh won the home base player of the year.

Renowned sports Jouranlist, Saddick Adams SportsObama also won the maiden edition of the sports journalist of the year.

Below is the full list of winners of the 2021 SWAG Awards:

Check The Full Winners Of The 46th SWAG Awards Below:

Samuel Takyi – Sports Personality of the Year

Samuel Takyi – Amateur Boxer of the Year

Daniel Afriyie Barnieh – Home-based Footballer of the year

Janet Egyir – Female Footballer of the Year.

Hasaacas Ladies – Team of the year

Fatawu Issahaku – Discovery of the Year

Alfred Lamptey – Professional Boxer of the year

Kelvin Alphous (Male) &Prospera Nantuo (Female) – Badminton Players of the Year

Philip Selikem Yao Amoako – Chess Player of the Year

Emmanuel Commey – Table Tennis player of the year

Naa Shika McCorley – Tennis player of the year (female)

Samuel Agbesi Antwi – Tennis player of the year (male)

United Takyi – Swimming Athlete of the Year

Mr. George Okoe Lamptey – Administrator of the year award.

Ofori Asare – National Team Coach of the Year

Yussif Basigi – Club Coach of the Year

Benjamin Azamati – Athlete of the year (Male)

Deborah Acquah – Athlete Of The Year (Female)

Saddick Adam – Sports Journalist of the Year

Source: Karvi

Check out Saddick Adams and other winners of 46th SWAG Awards SWAG Awards

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

You May Also Like


Kagame Tells Europe that Africa Doesn’t Need Adult Supervision but Fair Trade.   


At vero eos et accusamus et iusto odio dignissimos ducimus qui blanditiis praesentium voluptatum deleniti atque corrupti quos.


Daasebre Oti Boateng introduces Root-Based Model to Akufo-Addo, Bawumia, commends them for 2021 Census & Covid-19 fight Omanhene of New Juaben, Chancellor of All...


Why GCPC used address of Ayine’s firm at a point – Legal Practitioner Explains Legal practitioner Edudzi Kudzo Tameklo • GPGC recently won a...

Copyright © 2021, developed by Wordswar Technology & Investment, Inc. Contact us on +233246187160

%d bloggers like this: